Boois sworn in as Otjozondjupa regional council chairman

OTJIWARONGO: Okahandja constituency councilor, Steve Biko Boois was on Friday sworn in as the new Otjozondjupa Regional Council chairperson, replacing former chairperson Otto Ipinge.

Ipinge, who was also the Otjiwarongo constituency councilor, was in April this year appointed to the position of Governor for Otjozondjupa Region by President Hage Geingob.

The swearing-in ceremony for Boois took place at the Otjiwarongo Town Council Chambers on Friday morning.

Boois was nominated by the Omatako constituency councilor, Isaskar Kaujeua and seconded by Grootfontein constituency councilor Nelao Amagulu.

The seven regional councilors then unanimously endorsed him as their chairperson.

It was also at the same occasion where Amagulu was nominated to become a member of the Otjozondjupa Regional Council’s Management Committee.

Amagulu was nominated by the Otavi Regional constituency councilor, Ndapewa Nambili and seconded by the Tsumkwe constituency councilor Francina Hishekwa-Ghauz.

The Otjiwarongo Magistrate, Conchita Olivier in the presence of Ipinge, swore in the two councilors.

The Otjozondjupa Region has seven regional constituencies such as Okahandja for Boois, Omatako for Kaujeua; Otavi for Nambili, Tsumkwe for Hishekwa-Ghauz; Grootfontein for Amagulu and Okakarara constituency for Vetaruhe Kandorozu.

Residents of Otjiwarongo Constituency, which was for Ipinge, are expected to cast their votes in the by-election to elect their new constituency councilor on 09 July this year.

Six constituencies in the region are under the Swapo-Party, besides Okakarara, which is under the National Unity Democratic Organization (NUDO).

All regional constituency councilors were present at the swearing-in ceremony.