Brave Warriors Will Bounce Back, Says Mbidi

Despite yesterday’s 1-0 defeat to Niger in their 2017 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier, NFA President Frans Mbidi is adamant the Brave Warriors will bounce back in coming qualifiers against Senegal and Burundi.

Going into yesterday’s Group-K Afcon qualifier at the General Seyni Kountche Stadium in Niamey, the two sides were desperately vying for a victory that would keep them intact with Senegal who led the group after beating Burundi 3 – 1 on Saturday.

But unfortunately luck was not on Namibia’s side and it was the home side Niger who got the all-important goal in the 39th minute when Souleymane Dela Sacko scored from the penalty spot to give the West Africans the lead that eventually saw them win the match 1-0.

After the weekend’s round of matches Senegal top Group-K with 3 points followed by Niger also with 3 points, while Namibia and Burundi complete the group’s log standings, in that order.

Speaking to New Era Sport yesterday Mbidi admitted the result was a bit of a setback but remained positive that coach Ricardo Mannetti’s charges still have what it takes to compete at the highest level and will recuperate ahead of their next qualifier against Senegal on September 5 in Windhoek.

“Although we lost, it was just our first qualifying match away from home and I really feel it’s still too early for people to start judging the boys’ performance. With our next qualifiers in September (Senegal) and March next year against Burundi, I’m confident the boys will regroup and bounce back in one of those matches. I’m still very much hopeful,” said a confident Mbidi.

The Brave Warriors are expected back home tomorrow around 13h00 as Mannetti prepares for another assignment – the 2016 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier against regional giants Zambia this coming Sunday at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.

Yesterday’s starting line-up: Virgil Vries (GK), Chris Katjiukua, Dudes Mwedihanga, Ronald Ketjijere, Ananias Gilbert, Denzil Haoseb, Deon Hotto, Peter Shalulile, Wangu Gome, Petrus Shitembi, Benson Shilongo.

Source : New Era