Businesswoman of the Year Award Launched

This year’s Namibian businesswoman of the year award, the country’s premier award for female achievers in business and government, was launched yesterday.

This is the main award out of various categories, among them the business owner award, private and corporate sector award, community and government award and young businesswoman’s award.

Speaking at the launch, the organiser of the Namibia Businesswomen projects, Desegravereacute Lundon-Muller said, “With the award, we aim to raise awareness for equal opportunities, provide a platform for decision-makers to recognise and promote the status of women.” The businesswoman of the year ward recognises the innovation, perseverance and creativity of women who have achieved success.

“The aim is to reward and encourage high quality businesswomen and entrepreneurs for their excellence so as to showcase role models and honour those who form the core of economic growth and contribute to the well being of our society,” Lundon-Muller added.

Oiva Angula, the Senior Manager of Corporate Communications and Public Relations at Telecom Namibia, remarked that the businesswoman of the year award is not a lifetime achievement award and thus should encourage women of various age groups and careers to participate in future.

“There are so many fantastic women out there who are not coming forward to be acknowledged for their contribution to the business world and our society,” Angula stated.

Past winners of the awards, which were inaugurated 21 years ago, include Sara Elago (1999), Dr Christina Swart-Opperman (2002), Rhiana Potgieter (2007), Hettie Garbers-Kirsten (2009), Nangula Uaandja (2011) and Ericah Shafudah (2013).

Source : New Era