Cabinet Appoints Various Boards

CABINET has appointed members of the Casino Board to help pass the proposed law on gambling, Minister of information Tjekero Tweya announced on Thursday.

MTC head of legal services Festus Mbandeka is the chairperson of the new board that will be in office for 12 months or until the law is passed.

Sem Shikongo, the director of tourism and gaming in the environment ministry will be the secretary of the board.

Other members are Kandi Shejavali, a monitoring and evaluation consultant and deputy directors in the ministry of environment Tukaleni Emvula and Petrus Muteyauli.

Deputy directors from the ministry of health Robert Platt and Jacoba van Ryn are also part of the board that has Godfried Kandingua, an accountant from the finance ministry, and Veripamue Tjiho, an economist in the same ministry.

The Gaming and Entertainment Control Bill plans to raise the legal gambling age from 18 to 21 and introduce tougher penalties to protect minors.

Provision is also made for a register of gambling addicts, where families can apply for such people to be barred from gambling houses.

Other proposed changes include the introduction of gaming inspectors with powers to arrest, and a central monitoring system of gambling machines.

The new law will also introduce new licences, bets and wagers, and take care of bookmakers.

Cabinet also approved the appointment of members of the lotteries board for 12 months or until the Lotteries Bill becomes law. Among other things, the bill provides for the establishment of a lotteries board and spells out the conduct of a national lottery.

Chief executive officer of E-Bank Michael Mukete has been appointed as the chairperson of the Lotteries Board.

Charmaine Schultz, a lawyer from Charmaine Shultz amp Co is alternative member to the position of chairperson.

Seimy Shidute, the deputy permanent secretary for tourism in the ministry of environment has been reappointed on the board together with Louisa Mupetami, deputy permanent secretary for natural resource management in the same ministry.

Deputy director in the ministry of health Jacoba van Ryn and Rene Adams, a social worker in the same ministry are members too.

Florian Amulungu, the general manager at Methealth Namibia and senior manager at NamPower Selma Shaanika also made it to the board.

Other board members are GIPF general manager Milka Mungunda, Epangelo’s legal aiser and company secretary Jakobus Josua and Sem Shikongo as the secretary.

Meanwhile, Cabinet approved the 2015 hunting season for the period 1 May 2015 to 31 August 2015, in the case of registered conservancies and farms of not less than 1000 hectares which are enclosed with game proof fence.

The period 1 June 2015 to 31 July 2015 is for farms of not less than 1 000 hectares, which are enclosed with adequate fence.

Huntable birds which may be hunted on commercial farms and registered conservancies via a game bird quota obtained through the law.

Source : The Namibian