CORRECTION: CoW honors long-serving councilors

The City of Windhoek (CoW) has honored long-serving councilors with the title of ‘alderperson’ for their contribution to the development of the capital and its people.

The conferment of the alderperson title is in accordance with Council Resolution 393/11/2010, which resolved that under Section 30 (1) (q) of the Local Authorities Act, 1992 (Act 23 of 1992), honors may be conferred to any person who has in the opinion of the Local Authority Council rendered meritorious service to its residents; and council expresses itself on the principle of honouring councilors for meritorious service either by the bestowing of an honorary title or award.

Former mayor Elaine Trepper and Boas Ekandjo served the council for 17 years and 15 years, respectively and both received silver medals and certificates of appreciation.

Member of Parliament and former mayor, Agnes Kafula; former deputy mayor and councilor Gerson Kamatuka; councilor Josheph Shikongo; and councilor Benestus Kandundu received bronze medals and certificates of appreciation for serving the council for 11 years.

Trepper, Ekandjo, Kafula, Kamatuka and Shikongo are serving in the council as Swapo members, while Kandundu served as a member of the National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) before joining Swapo in October 2014. He lost his seat when he moved to Swapo.

Speaking at the conferment of the titles here on Wednesday, Minister of Urban and Rural Development Sophia Shaningwa, in a speech read on her behalf, applauded the City Council for honouring its long-serving councilors by recognizing their contributions.

“The honors you are about to receive, albeit no monetary value, should instill a sense of accomplishment, a sense of deed, a sense of fulfillment, and a sense of pride in your hearts,” she said.

Shaningwa encouraged councilors to continue serving the community until all community members receive the necessary basic services.

“I would like to assure you of my support in your endeavors to provide adequate services to our residents,” she said.

Meanwhile, Windhoek Mayor Muesee Kazapua said these honors are specifically conferred in acknowledgement of the recipients’ courage in shouldering the municipal leadership responsibility.

“As we honor the long-serving councilors, we take cognizance of the fact that the foundation they have laid forms the basis on which we focus our efforts and time to carry forward the development agenda of our city,” he said.

The ceremony was attended by over 50 members of the public including Members of Parliament, current and former councilors of the City of Windhoek.