Counting of votes ongoing in Erongo

ARANDIS; The counting of votes for the Presidential and National Assembly elections was underway in the seven constituencies of the Erongo Region early on Saturday.

Most of the polling stations in Arandis, Swakopmund and Walvis Bay were however still open as officials from the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) were waiting for all voters who were queuing before the closing time of 21h00, to finish voting.

At 06h30 in Arandis, the team was still counting votes for employees of the Husab Mine.

The Arandis Constituency has five fixed polling stations and three mobile teams.

As with many other regions across the country, a number of people in Erongo did not get a chance to vote after the polling stations closed, with many who were in the queue getting tired of waiting and leaving.

Others showed up late due to work commitments, but were not allowed to join the queue after 21h00.

By 07h00 only two polling stations had released results.

Provisional results from the Tamariskia Town Hall in Swakopmund indicated that Swapo-Party presidential candidate Hage Geingob obtained the most votes (923), followed by McHenry Venaani of the DTA of Namibia with 93 and Hidipo Hamutenya of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) with 75 votes.

For the National Assembly elections results at the Tamariskia venue, Swapo obtained 800 votes, DTA 94 and the United People’s Movement (UPM) 85 votes.

Another venue that completed counting in Swakopmund was the DRC Fire Brigade polling station, where Geingob received 1 021 votes; Hamutenya 45 and Venaani 23 votes.

Constituency results were expected to start pouring in between 08h00 and 09h00, when counting was expected to be completed.