Cream of the Crop Artists Honoured

The fourth Namibia Annual Music Awards (NAMAs) was a blue carpet occasion starting off first with NAMAs Industry Awards on Friday night were by 17 personalities were awarded.

Artists such as Kanibal, Lady May, Tunakie, Lize Ehlers and Jean-Michael were on hand to entertain-thrill the invited guests. The night was headlined by Axali Doeumlseb honoured as Lifetime Achiever. Doeumlseb is the writer and composer of Namibia, Land of the Brave, Namibia’s national anthem.

Except for one or two presenters who did not rehearse their acts, the awards ceremony was as smooth and glamorous as expected. The Industry night saw Gordon Joseph from the Namibian Sun scooping one of the new categories, Best Entertainment Journalist while Best Radio DJ, also a new category went to Max-T of the Namibia Broadcasting Corporation (NBC)’s Otjiherero Language Service. The event continued the next day and saw thousands of spectators filling up the venue all glitz and glamour and stylish attires to witness the deserving winners.

VMSIX, The Dogg, Exit, Erna Chimu walk away with three awards each. VMSIX was awarded in the Best Gospel, Best Acapella and Best Group categories while The Dogg was honoured with the NAMAs Special Award, Song of the Year and Best House for his song Nuka. Exit was recognised for Best Kwaito, Most Popular Artist of the Year and Radio Song of the Year for his hit song, My Note Book. Erna Chimu’s song, Hai-Serute, won Best Traditional category, while the same artist scoped Best Instrumental (inclusive of Jazz) category with the song Hi Tilite, and crowned the Best Female Artist of the Year. Gazza won the Best Male Artist of the Year and Best Music Video, with the song Kwateni Omunona.

Jean Michael is the Best Newcomer with the song Rise and Shine, Blossom Best Kizomba with the song Indikupapatele while the Best Afro Pop went to Vanity for the song Tuli Mohole. Receiving the awards, Vanity shed some tears of joy. Best Damara Punch was grabbed by Lettie and Best Oviritje by Kallefa Tjiriange. Floritha walk away with the Best RnB again for the second time with the song Don’t.

Describing the awards as fantastic, Prime Minister Hage Geingob said he was very proud of the local music industry that has grown to the level where Namibians love their own music. His passion was also evident when he got to tango with Blossom on her way up the stage to receive her award in the Best Kizomba category.

Source : New Era