Date set for Otjiwarongo by-election

OTJIWARONGO: The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has set 09 July as the date for the Otjiwarongo Constituency by-election.

ECN Director Dr Paul Isaak told Nampa in an interview on Friday that the commission decided on 09 July 2015 as the date eligible voters in the Otjiwarongo Constituency will cast their votes to elect a regional councilor of their choice.

He said the four-day supplementary voter registration for the constituency that kicked off on Tuesday morning was a success.

“Everything is going well from the ECN’s side. I am also here to see the progress for myself,” Isaak noted.

He said that by Friday midday, about 243 eligible voters in total had obtained their new voters’ cards.

Isaak said 243 is “not bad” as this was just a supplementary registration exercise, assuming that the majority of residents in the constituency have already received their voters’ cards during previous voter registration periods.

Isaak could by Friday still not say how many political parties will contest the Otjiwarongo Constituency by-election.

Meanwhile, the ECN’s Otjozondjupa Regional Voter Education Officer, Beatrice Sililo earlier this week told this news agency 26 voter registration points were identified around the constituency.

She urged all residents in the constituency who changed their surnames and/or added other names due to any social factors to register and exercise their democratic right to vote.

She said all residents that turned 18 years after the mass general voter registrations of 2014 can also register and acquire their voter cards.

People who also moved to the Otjiwarongo constituency from elsewhere around the country after the general voter registrations of last year were also advised to acquire new voter cards for them to participate in the by-election.

The supplementary voter registration was necessitated by the appointment of former Otjiwarongo Constituency regional councilor, Otto Ipinge to the position of Otjozondjupa Regional Governor.

Ipinge was appointed by President Hage Geingob to the position of Otjozondjupa Regional Governor in April this year.

He replaced former Otjozondjupa Regional Governor, Samuel Nuuyoma, who retired.