De Lange Dominates FNB Schools Series

Tristan de Lange continued his dominance of the FNB Schools Mountain Bike series when he won the final leg in convincing fashion on Saturday.

De Lange took the lead from the start and never looked back as he built up a huge gap on the rest of the field.

He eventually completed the seven lap event of about 40km in one hour one minute 41 seconds, to finish more than 18 minutes ahead of second-placed Arminn Schommarz (1:20:18), while Petrus Mawano came third in 1:25:39.

With the win, De Lange ensured that he also won the overall series after he had won three of the four legs, while he failed to complete one due to injury.

“It was a nice course and it was very nice to have a lot of people out on the course and to see that everyone is enjoying it. The course had a bit of everything, a bit of climbing and a bit of technical, so it was a very good combination and it was very enjoyable,” he said after the race.

“The series as a whole went very well. I managed to win all of the races except for one when I could not finish due to an injury, but otherwise every race went well and I didn’t have any mechanical problems and thats thanks to my sponsor, Mannie’s Bike Mecca,” he added.

De Lange will now once again represent Namibia at the Spur Schools MB finals in South Africa next month, where he will be a g favourite to retain the gold medal that he won last year.

“I managed to win the Spur Finals in South Africa last year but the next day at the Inter Provincials I had mechanical problems and ended up finishing absolutely last due to mechanical issues. This year I’m definitely aiming to win it again,” he said.

In June, De Lange won a silver medal at the Anoca Youth Games in Gaborone, Botswana and he will soon once again leave for Nanjing, China to represent Namibia at the Youth Olympic Games.

The event saw a fine turnout of close to 80 riders who competed in various age group categories from U8 to U18 level. FNB Namibia sponsored the series to an amount of N$40 000, while Waltons also sponsored prizes at the prize giving ceremony.

Lara Winterbach was also a comfortable winner in the junior women’s category, winning the six-lap event in 1:16:32, with Hilde Goebel second in 1:21:14 and Daniela Kolb third in 1:21:54.

Herbert Peters won the U16 Boys category over six laps in 51:27, followed byFC Smith (58:46) and Timmo Grossmann (1:01:51), while Steffanie Grossmann won the U16 Girls category over five laps in 51:25, followed by Sofia Simon (1:04:18) and Natalie Visagie (1:31:49).

Charl du Plooy won the Boys U14 category over five laps in 46:44, followed by Joshua Lichtman (47:36) and Oliver Ahrens (50:39), while Kayla Pedreiro won the Girls U14 category over four laps in 47:52, followed by Cindy Rowland in 50:46.

Reto Sell won the Boys U12 category, followed by Bergran Jensen and Hugo Hahn, while Maja Borg won the Girls U12 category.

Ethan L’Estrange won the Bopys U10 category, followed by Kevin Lowe and PD Blignaut, while Svenja Ahrens won the U10 Girls category followed by Cornelia Alpers.

Sean Lowe won the U8 Boys category, followed by Daniel James and Liam du Plessis, while Kylie Dickerson won the U8 Girls category, followed by Anna Michelle Weber and Jordan Hattin Jones.

Source : The Namibian