De Lange Retains Title At Klein AUs

The KIA mountain bike series kicked-off in style last weekend with the Klein-Aus Vista challenge in the south of Namibia marking the first of five races due to take place this year.

A total of 124 riders made their way to tackle the difficult but scenic track at the Klein-Aus Vista Lodge, which forms part of the Gondwana Collection.

The race was stretched over two days – Friday and Saturday – and sub-divided into two race distances with the half-marathon being 70 kilometres long while the riders had to overcome 140 km during the full marathon.

In the Elite Men’s category, defending champion Tristan de Lange made no mistake to secure his second title in a row. The 16-year-old De Lange crossed the finish line after the second day in a total time of 6:30:37 hours.

De Lange had covered the first 70km on the first day in 3:20:35 hours, while clocking in at 3:10:02 hours during the final 70km’s on the second day.

Second place went to Kia Namibia rider Martin Freyer with a total time of 6:34:07. His team mate Michael Pretorius had to settle for fourth as he was beaten to third place by the young Herbert Peters.

Costa Raul Seibeb, primed as one of the hot favourites before the race began, bowed out of the race due to a crash on the second day of action.

Meanwhile Irene Steyn was in top shape to win the Elite Women’s race in 8:53:32 hours. Michelle Vorster finished second, nearly a quarter of an hour later (9:19:43).

The master men’s category, also stretching over the full marathon distance, was won by Piet Swiegers who was riding on home ground, clocking in at 7:29:17, with Fanie Steenkamp second (8:53:32) and Hans du Toit third (8:04:25).

Lee-Anne Palmhert emerged victories in the master women’s category with a time of 9:49:59, followed by Caroline Janik in 12:07:38.

Overview of other results:

Elite men (Half marathon, 70km):

1. Johann Wasserfall – 4:24:29

2. Immanual Mwatwoshive – 4:29:09

3. Eckhard Staemke – 4:40:19

Elite women (Half marathon, 70km):

1. Anke Janik – 5:46:25

2. Maryna Blignaut – 5:46:25

3. Kirsten Baumann – 7:08:22

Master men (Half marathon, 70km):

1. Frank Snyman – 4:08:42

2. Walter Hailwax – 4:31:16

3. Andre Delport – 4:49:16

Master women (Half marathon, 70km):

1. Aletti Lowe – 5:05:18

2. Andra van Staden – 5:11:13

3. Carin Schrade – 5:12:26

Junior men (Half marathon, 70km):

1. Francois Smith – 4:40:57

Source : The Namibian