De Lange Wins First Cross Country Event

TRISTAN de Lange was a comfortable winner of the first race of the Nedbank Mountain Bike Cross Country series in Windhoek on Saturday.

The junior cyclist completed the seven-lap event in a time of one hour 26 minutes 46 seconds, to finish more than two minutes ahead of second-placed Heinrich Kohne (1:29:04), while Martin Freyer came this in 1:29:42.

Michael Pretorius came fourth in 1:31:48 and Xavier Papo fifth in 1:34:49.

De Lange took the lead from the start and was never caught again. He gradually stretched his lead, and eventually won with ease, demonstrating that he will be difficult to beat in this year’s series.

De Lange also had the fastest lap of the day of 11 minutes 36 seconds, which was 16 seconds faster than Martin Freyer who had the second fastest lap of 11:52.

Besides being the overall winner, De Lange also dominated the Junior Men’s category, finishing nearly 25 minutes ahead of Brandon Plaatjies who came second in 1:51:28.

Irene Steyn also comfortably won the Elite women’s category over six laps in a time of 1:29:36.

Michelle Vorster came second, more than six minutes behind in 1:36:03, while Zoe Mitchell came third in 1:40:40.

Saturday’s race saw a big turnout with more than 150 cyclists competing in various categories ranging from Under 10 boys through to Masters.

Philip Steyn won the Sub Veteran Men’s category over six laps in 1:25:14, with

Vernon Maresch coming second in 1:28:03 and Danie Joubert third in 1:29:17.

Genevieve Weber won the Sub Veteran Women’s category over five laps in 1:14:46, followed by Maike Bochert (1:25:19) and Johanita de Waal (1:26:54).

Nick du Plessis won the Veteran Men’s category over five laps in 1:06:43, followed by Thorsten Horenburg (1:9:00) and Allan Viviers (1:11:06), while Anneke Steenkamp won the Veteran Women’s category over five laps in 1:26:54, followed by Stephanie Faul in 1:27:54.

Frank Snyman won the Masters Men’s category over five laps in 1:17:47, followed by Ingo Waldschmidt (1:18:10) and Johann Liebenberg (1:19:21), while Elke Jagau won the Masters Women’s category over three laps in 52:51, followed by Carolin Janik (54:42) and Siggi Bassingthwaighte (59:14).

Chris Muir was the only entrant in the Grand Master Men’s category and won the three-lap event in 56:31.

Andre de Klerk won the Sport Men category over three laps in 44:48, followed by Peter van der Merwe (45:45) and Hilko Marschall (45:45), while Santie van der Walt won the Sport Women’s category over three laps in 54:36, followed by Wanda van der Merwe (55:10) and Andra van Staden (55:48).

Robert Jacobs won the Boys U16 category over six laps in 2:02:23, while Charl du Plooy won the Boys U14 category over four laps in 34:14, followed by Janco du Plooy (42:38) and Jak Prinsloo (42:38).

Reto Sell won the Boys U12 category over two laps in 28:49, followed by Bergran Jensen (30:30) and Ricci Seebach (32:26), while Kevin Lowe won the Boys U10 category over two laps in 18:36, followed by Ethan L’Estrange (21:41) and PD Blignaut (21:45).

Source : The Namibian