Election staff and materials dispatched in Otjozondjupa

OTAVI; The election materials expected to be used in this year’s Presidential and National Assembly elections were successfully dispatched on Thursday to different constituencies in the Otjozondjupa Region.

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s Otjozondjupa Regional Coordinator, Friederich Rugharo told Nampa in an interview that all election staff and material have been deployed to their respective constituency centres on Thursday.

“We started dispatching them at 04h00 on Thursday morning. The teams going to Omatako, Okakarara, Tsumkwe and Okahandja went early, and those for Otjiwarongo, Grootfontein and Otavi followed them later because their destination is near,” Rugharo said.

He said no hiccups or accidents were reported in the process.

The region has a total of 61 fixed voting stations and 94 mobile teams to serve about 100 mobile polling points.

The teams were dispatched from the Otavi Police Station to their designated election centres in the constituencies.

Twenty-eight election teams were dispatched to Tsumkwe, 20 to Grootfontein, 18 to Otavi, 15 to Otjiwarongo, 37 to Okakarara , 22 to Omatako and 15 to Okahandja.

Each election team consists of six ECN officials and two police officers.

A total of 87 655 eligible voters are expected to cast their votes during this year’s Presidential and National Assembly elections on Friday in the Otjozondjupa Region.

According to Rugharo, 15 710 eligible voters are registered in Grootfontein Constituency, 16 294 in Okahandja, 13 911 in Okakarara and 6 731 in Omatako.

Otjiwarongo Constituency has the highest registered eligible voters with 20 729, while Otavi has 8 363, and 5 917 in Tsumkwe Constituency.

The polling stations are expected to open from 07h00 in the morning, and close at 21h00 on the same Friday evening. Mobile polling stations have different operating hours.

He said the counting of votes will then start shortly after closing at the voting points, and later on transported to the verification centres where they will be verified and announced as soon as the re-counting is completed.

Eligible voters this year will use electronic voting machines (EVMs) in casting their votes.