Endjala, Pretorius Win Wanderers Squash Titles

Max Endjala and Carin Pretorius were crowned the men and women’s champions at the Wanderers Open Squash Championships which took place in Windhoek over the weekend.

In the men’s final, Endjala was pushed all the way before beating Sven Gruttemeyer 3-2, but the women’s final was a one-sided affair as Pretorius cruised to a 3-0 victory against Adri Lambert.

Endjala beat Sven Gruttemeyer in a thrilling five setter, which went down to the wire and which could have gone either way.

Endjala won the first set 12-10 but Gruttemeyer struck back, winning the next two sets 12-10 and 11-8.

Endjala however dug deep to win the fourth set 11-9 to take the match into a deciding fifth set.

Both players gave it their all in the final set before Endjala prevailed 11-8 to win the match 3-2.

The victory saw Endjala entrench his position as the top ranked Namibian male player, while Gruttemeyer is now ranked ninth among the men.

In the semifinals, Endjala beat Michau Basson 3-2, while Gruttemeyer beat Trevor Grane 3-0.

Several of Namibia’s top ranked players like Norbert Dorgeloh, Andrew Forest, Stephan van Rooyen, Immanuel Amorongo and Cliffie de Witt did not compete due to injuries or other issues.

In the women’s final, the top-ranked Pretorius displayed her dominance with a 3-0 straight set victory against the second seed, Adri Lambert.

Pretorius won the first two sets 11-4, 11-4 and although Lambert offered ger resistance in the third, Pretorius won that 11-8 to wrap up the match.

With her victory, Pretorius underlined her status as Namibia’s top ranked female player, while Isabelle Schnoor is ranked second and Adri Lambert third.

In the semifinals, Lambert had to pull out all the stops to beat Nancy Fernandes 3-2, while Pretorius beat Lida Marie Calitz 3-0.

“Adri Lambert played an amazing game and I knew I had to finish the match off soon, because she is super fit,” Pretorius said after winning the women’s title.

“We also had 16 women entrants for the first time in two years which was amazing,” she added.

This year’s Wanderers Open saw a record turnout of more than 70 players – nearly double the entrants of last year.

In the women’s competition there were 16 entrants, while there were three divisions in the men’s competition.

Phillip van Schalkwyk won the men’s B Division, after beating Bjorn Magg in the final, while Collin Nott beat Sven Hopkins in the men’s C Division final.

Waldo Schafer won the award for the most improved male player of the tournament, while Marion Schurz won the award for the most improved female player of the tournament.

The next major competition on the Namibian squash calendar is the Namibian Open Championships which will be hosted by Wanderers at the beginning of September.

Source : The Namibian