Enduro Series Round Seven

A total of 49 riders took part in Round Seven of the Bank Windhoek Namibia National Enduro Championship Series which took place at Farm Ravensburg in the Okahandja district last Saturday.

The riders battled it out for the podium places as this was the second last race for the 2014 championship series.

The series was co-sponsored by Moths Transport.

The riders lined up to take on the sand, rocks and obstacles the organisers had included in the race. Two-thirds of the competitors managed to complete the race while some entrants suffered mechanical problems and others did not finish due to tough and demanding conditions which upset the less prepared riders.

In the National Bike Class, Henner Rusch put up a good display and won his sixth race in the series. Shannon Rowland raced her way to victory in the Ladies Quads.

In Class 10, there were three entrants, with Mark Johnston in third place, behind Marius Faul in second place and Nickey Hohmeier who won this class.

In Class 9, there was only one entrant and Juan Tyran took the honours.

Four riders entered Class 8 and two of those Did Not Finish (DNF). Franco Junius won the race followed by Dennis Dembski in second place.

Class 7 had the most entries with 15 entrants. RJ Visser finished in third place, behind Sven Gruumlnert who was beaten by six minutes to first place by Tom Moths.

Class 5 had four entrants, and two of the riders had a DNF. In second place was Frank Ahlreip while the current leader Sven Schneidenberger won this class.

Class 4 the National Ladies had four entrants with Shannon Rowland extending her lead and taking top honours. Coming in second place was Julia Moths, followed by Maike Bochert in third place.

In Class 3, Heiko Bernstein had a DNF due to quad problems. The class, in which only two riders entered was eventually won by Gary Rowland.

In the Open Class (Class 2), Henner Rush took the win 25 minutes ahead of second placed Ingo Waldschmidt. A new name to the podium of the Open Class was Sigi Pack who took third place out of the nine entries.

Class 1 had eight entries with the current favourites, Kai-Uwe Brettschneider and Joumlrn Greiter taking third and second place respectively, while Kai Hennes, who normally rides in the Open class, came in first place.

The eighth and last event for the 2014 season will take place on 18th of October 2014 on the Farm Neu Heusis, which is a new venue with a new race track.

Source : The Namibian