Esterhuizen, Steenkamp Win Singles Titles

Will Esterhuizen and Amanda Steenkamp won the men and women’s singles titles at the National Bowls Championships which came to an end at the TransNamib Bowls Club (TNBC) last Saturday after seven action-packed days at different venues around Windhoek.

The prestigious tournament which was held for the 36th time, saw players from different clubs making up their own teams, and was dubbed by some participants as one of the best in its history.

During the finals, there was a special focus on the three different singles championships up for grabs in both the men and women’s divisions.

In the Open category, Will Esterhuizen, who had already clinched the “Champion of Champions” title last week Monday, came up against Dave Gibbons.

Both players came out guns blazing and there was little that separated the pair throughout the match. Esterhuizen, who also forms part of the Namibian delegation that will travel to the Commonwealth Games this year, eventually kept an upper hand against his counterpart to win his second title of the tournament.

The women’s Open division was won by Amanda Steenkamp after and intense battle against Anjuleen Viljoen.

In the men’s Plate division, newcomer Cabous Olivier, only 15 years of age, triumphed over veteran Sandy Joubert, while Mandie Steenkamp, another promising youngster, won against Avril Kotze in the women’s Plate division.

Kiewiet Rust won the men’s Veteran division, beating Willie Esterhuizen (Snr). Jean Joubert went on to win the women’s Veteran division against Avril Kotze.

In the men’s Novice division, Jacques Bruwer came out on top after defeating Christian Erasmus. Melisa Bruwer emerged as the winner in the women’s Novice division after beating Elna Esterhuizen in the final.

Meanwhile, the father-son team of Douw and Jurie Calitz as well as Heleen Rust and Erna Muller defended their titles in the men and women’s Pairs divisions respectively.

The Calitz family kept the upper hand over Will Esterhuizen and Axel Krahenbuhl in an epic showdown. Rust and Muller triumphed over Bea Lamprecht and Rinette de Kock in a fiercely contested final.

Desmond van der Smit, Gerhard Stehle and Waylon Wentzel set the pace in the Trips category, defeating Tollie Cronje, Ekkie Gaertner and Rudie Vaessler.

Amongst the female competitors, Bea Lamprecht, Lynne Lindsay-Payne and Anjuleen Viljoen were in a class of their own. Marietjie Meyer, Amanda Steenkamp and Mandie Steenkamp had to settle for second place.

The four-man team of Will Esterhuizen, Douw Calitz, Jurie Calitz and Waylon Wentzel went all the way to lift the trophy in the Fours division after an impressive performance in the final against Tollie Cronje, Ewald Vermeulen, Piet Appolis and Axel Krahenbuhl.

Marie van der Merwe, Jacomien Diederiks, Edith Coetzee and Melisa Bruwer accomplished this achievement in the women’s division.

Erna Muller and Jacques Bruwer were awarded with the prizes for the personalities of the tournament, whereas Anjuleen Viljoen and Will Esterhuizen convinced the judging panel with their performances on the green to claim the titles as top players.

Before the championships the Namibian Bowling Association (NBA) also held its annual general meeting where Ewald Vermeulen was confirmed as president.

The other board members are vice president Sandy Joubert as well as Carel Gouws (secretary), Ellen Geyser (treasurer), Desmond van der Smit (director of competitions), Jenny Gardiner (development officer) and Lesley Vermeulen (athletes’ representative).

Source : The Namibian