EVMs arrive in Okahandja

WINDHOEK; The electronic voting machines (EVMs) arrived in Okahandja early Thursday morning for the Presidential and National Assembly elections on Friday.

Sedekias Eiseb, a polling officer for the Okahandja Constituency in the Otjozondjupa Region, told Nampa on Thursday that the EVMs, printers and verification machines arrived in the town in the early morning hours accompanied by Namibian Police Force members.

By Wednesday afternoon, these materials were not yet there.

He said the town is ready for elections, and polling officials will be dispatched to the various polling stations later Thursday.

A total of 16 294 people have registered as voters in the Okahandja Constituency out of a total of 87 655 registered voters in the Otjozondjupa Region.

The Okahandja Constituency has nine fixed points – Okahandja Town Hall, Aurora Primary School, Veddersdal Primary School Hall, Ileni Tulikwafeni OVC Centre, Andreas Kukuri Centre, Okahandja Plots, Epandulo Hall, Okahandja State Hospital, and National Institute for Educational Development (NIED).

The constituency has six mobile teams for 24 mobile polling points.

Voting starts at 07h00 at all fixed polling stations in the town of Friday.