Fast Times At Aranos Enduro

ROUND three of the Bank Windhoek Namibia National Enduro Series, which concluded in the rolling red dunes of Aranos last weekend, saw the fastest racing on the Enduro Series calendar so far this year.

As expected, the race, in which 54 riders took part, was extremely fast and lap times were in the 40 plus minute range, making it the fastest race on the calendar to date, in terms of lap times.

In the Bikes categories, the racing was very close, with the top six riders’ times in the range of 3:01 to 3:09 hours, while the next best rider raced in a time of 3:20 hours.

The lap times did not differ too much either, as it was the rider who could shave a couple of seconds off their rivals’ times and could accumulate these over four laps that came out victorious in the end.

In the Quad categories, the racing was also very competitive and the times were just as close.

In Class 1, Claude Brendel took the win making it three in a row, ahead of Pascal Henle and third placed Joern Greiter.

In Class 2, Dirkie Baard, a former quad rider star, who has made the change to two wheels, emerged victorious ahead of Henner Rusch and Tommy Gous in second and third places respectively.

Clinto Hilfiker won the Class 3 National Mens Quad Class, followed by Heiko Bernstein who was four seconds ahead of third placed, Dimo Eloff.

In Class 4, the National Ladies Quad Class, Shannon Rowland took the win after Julia Moths suffered a mechanical breakdown. Claire Brendel finished second ahead of Jolly Fourie.

In Class 5, the Masters Bikes, Sven Schneidenberger also made it three wins in a row, ahead of Martin Diekmann and Frank Ahlreip in third place.

Sven Gruenert edged out his best friend, Tom Moths, to win Class 7, while Nicolai Palmhert came third.

Uwe Brockmann won Class 8 ahead of Franco Routh and L Oppermann in third place.

As the only entrant in Class 9, Juan Tyren, was the automatic winner in this class.

There were only two entrants in Class 10, which was won by Jakkie van Zyl, while Immo Keil came second.

The Enduro Series will continue on 7 June in Uis.

Source : The Namibian