Freyer, Vorster Win Big in Yambu Challenge

Martin Freyer and Michelle Vorster won the biggest prizes on the local mountain bike circuit when they both walked away with N$30 000 at last weekend’s Yambu Life Cycle Challenge.

The Yambu Life Cycle Challenge was held in a new Ultra Enduro format, which saw the cyclists tackling three different stages at timed individual starts, 30 seconds apart. The first two stages consisted of the same track in the bush, but the third stage was the most difficult, and included a tough mountain climb.

In the Elite Men’s race, Freyer led from the start after building up a 21-second lead over Heinrich Kohne on Stage One.

Eugene Ellis followed in third position a further second adrift, while Michael Pretorius was fourth, 30 seconds behind the leader.

Freyer stretched his lead over Kohne to more than 40 seconds on Stage 2, while third-placed Ellis dropped nearly two minutes behind.

Andreas Ewald meanwhile, moved up to fourth position after Michael Pretorius picked up a flat tyre, and eventually finished 11th on the stage.

Freyer underlined his dominance to win the third stage by close to a minute over second-placed Kohne and third-placed Pretorius.

Freyer was a comfortable winner in the men’s category with an overall time of 23 minutes 45 seconds. Heinrich Kohne finished one minute 40 seconds behind in second place, while Andreas Ewald came third, nearly three minutes behind.

Michelle Vorster was the fastest female rider after winning the Women’s Sub Veteran category in 30:03:49.

Wanda van der Merwe came second in 32:24,18 while Wanette Hanekom, who won the Elite Women’s category in 33:41,17, was third overall.

Herbert Peters also gave a fine performance to win the Under 16 Boys category, despite suffering a flat tyre.

After Stage One he was second overall – 11 seconds behind Martin Freyer – but then had a flat on the second stage and lost more than 10 minutes on the leaders when he had to push his bike to the finish line.

Peters was back to his best on the third stage though, finishing second overall behind Freyer, and went on to win the Under 16 Boy’s category.

Andre Steinfurth won the Sub Veteran Men’s category, followed by Andre Christensen and Loic Bathfield, while Michael Pekalski won the Junior Boys category and Joshua Lichtman the Under 14 Boys category.

There was also an ‘All Comers’ category for cyclists who only completed the first two stages.

Quinton van Rooyen Elite Men’s category, followed by Heinz Winkler and Tiekie du Plooy, while Richard Ford won the Sub Veteran Men’s category followed by Christo du Raan and Francois Prinsloo.

Mark Brinkmann won the Veteran Men’s category, followed by Gerd Rohe and Riaan Vermeulen, while Kai Hohmeier won the Masters men’s category followed by Renier Taljaard and Pieter Langenhoven.

Mimi Nieuwoudt won the Elite Women’s category followed by Anja Basson, while Christine Steinfurth won the Sub Veteran Women’s category, followed by Cheryl Pienaar and Olga Bisschoff.

Senta Rohe won the Veteran Women’s category followed by Madeleine Bombosch, while Carolin Janik won the Master Women’s category.

More than 100 mountain bikers entered the event while the total prize money, sponsored by Trustco Namibia, amounted to N$200 000.

Source : The Namibian