Freyer Wins First Race of the Year

Martin Freyer of the Kia cycling team won the first cycling race of the Windhoek Pedal Power Nedbank series on Sunday.

Competing over 120km on the Dordabis road, the 19-year-old Fryer pipped Ingram Cuff in a sprint to the line to win in a time of 3:03:51 (three hours, three minutes and 50 seconds.)

Cuff came second, two seconds behind, while Costa Seibeb came third in 3:04:05.

Freyer was also the top Under 23 cyclist, finishing ahead of Michael Pretorius (3:04:51) and Jojo Hamunyela (3:04:52).

Ingram Cuff won the Elite Men’s category in 3:03:52, followed by Seibeb (3:04:05) and Heiko Redecker (3:04:45).

Irene Steyn won the Elite Women’s category over 100km in 2:47:58, with Cherie Vale coming second in 2:49:33 and Hester Prins third in 3:11:04.

Phillip Steyn won the Veteran Men’s category over 80km in 2:10:09, followed by Joris Harteveld in 2:10:34 and Jaco Lamprecht in 2:11:54, while Barbara Ackerman won the Veteran Women’s category over 80km in 1:45:02, followed by Tersia van Zyl in 1:45:15 and Svetlana Bauer in 1:55:29.

Gerhard Mans senior won the Master Men’s category over 60km in 1:41:53, beating Louis Peens (1:41:53) and Louis du Toit (1:41:55) in a sprint to the line.

Mandy Huyshamen won the Master Women’s category over 40km in 1:20:00, followed by Karin Brockmann (1:22:38) and Berrit Graf (1:24:44).

Tony Bassingthwaighte won the Grand Master Men’s category over 60km in 1:33:11, followed by Hartmut Ruppel (1:45:39) and Koos van Staden (1:49:39).

Tristan de Lange comfortably won the Boys U-18 category over 100km in 2:35:10, with Branden Plaatjies second in 2:39:52 and Herbert Peters third in 2:43:26.

Charl du Plooy won the Boys U-16 category over 80km in 2:17:23, followed by Schalk van der Merwe (2:18:55) and Timmo Grossmann (2:36:14), while Steffanie Grossmann won the Girls U-16 category over 60km in 1:57:37, followed by Tanya Mackensen (2:20:34) and Cassandra Knouwds (2:42:05).

Divan du Plooy won the Boys U-14 category, Monique du Plessis won the Girls U-12 category, PD Blignaut won the Boys U-10 category, Adrielle Baumgarten won the Girls U-10 category and JP Blignaut won the Boys U8 category.

Meanwhile, the National Cycling Time Trial and Road Race championships take place this weekend in and around Windhoek.

The Individual Time Trial takes place on Friday, 30 January, starting at 16h00 on the Otjihase road on the way to Heja Lodge.

The National Road Race Championships take place on Sunday, 1 February, starting at 07h00 at Cymot’s head office in the Northern Industrial Area.

The race consists of three loops on the Western Bypass and the Matchless Road with the senior and U-23 men covering 136km.

The prize giving ceremony will take place at Cymot’s head office at 12h00.

Source : The Namibian