Gazza Tops Namas Nominations!

Namibia’s Kwaito artist, Gazza, is leading this year’s Namibia Annual Music Awards (NAMAS) nominations with eight nominations followed by The Dogg, female duo, Vanity and Exit with six nominations each.

Nominees for the 4th annual Namibian Annual Music Awards (NAMAS) were announced on Tuesday during an hour live broadcast on the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC)’s musical programme, Whatagwan.

Both new and established artists share the list of nominations throughout a diverse array of 32 music categories spanning all genres. This year a panel of judges will determine the winner of each category and the category open for general public voting is the Song of the Year (SOY) which is open until May 3. Music tracks from SOY nominees are featured on the NAMAs’ website.

The Nominees in the SOY categories include, African by DJ El-Nino (SOY1), Go Hard or Go Home by Exit (SOY2), Tufike Apa by Gazza (SOY3), Chilling by Obie amp Jayden (SOY4), Suide Se Tyd by S-Man (SOY5) and

Nuka by The Dogg (SOY6). The public is encouraged to vote by texting the name of the artist and short code, (SOY1, SOY2, SOY3, SOY4, SOY5 or SOY6) to 66262. Each sms is only charged N$ 2.

This year’s NAMAs will take place on May 3 at Sports Indoor Centre in Swakopmund. Tickets to the event are available for N$ 500 (VIP) and N$ 250 (Standard) at Computicket, Shoprite and Checkers outlets countrywide.

The NAMAs is an annual award ceremony run by MTC Namibia and the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation that exist to recognise accomplishment in the Namibian music industry.

Source : New Era