Goliath, Shikongo Win Top Wrestling Awards

Romio Goliath and Angula Shikongo won the top awards at the Namibia Wrestling Federation’s year-end function following its National Championships on Saturday.

The 15-year-old Goliath from the After School Centre Wrestling Club in Khomasdal won the Wrestler of the Year award after collecting the most points during the Namibian wrestling season.

Goliath also excelled for Namibia in South Africa this year, where he won two gold medals at the SA Senior and Cadet Championships one gold medal at the SA Greco Roman Championships and a bronze medal at the SA Youth and Junior Championships.

The 24-year-old Shikongo once again attended the Fila Wrestling High Performance Centre in Senegal this year and was Namibia’s top wrestler in international competitions.

He came third at the Africa Senior Championships in Tunisia while he also represented Namibia at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland, where he came ninth overall after losing his first round fight against Leon Rattigan of England.

Goliath won the Wrestler of the Year award with 256 points, followed by Prinsley Swartz on 239 and Kevin Vleermuis on 220 points.

The rest of the Top Ten wrestlers of the year were as follows:

Werner !Kharuxab (218), Marcellino Jaars (213), Festus Asino (200), Linus Katujanda (164), Devin Benhard (162), Vernon Vleermuis (161) and Lazarus Martin (152).

Several wrestlers received certificates for excelling at various South African championships.

At the SA Greco Roman Championships, Romio Goliath, Prinsley Swartz and Kevin Vleermuis won gold medals and Marcellino Jaars and Asino Festus bronze medals.

At the SA Senior and Cadet Freestyle Championships, Goliath won a gold medal, Prinsley Swartz a silver medal and Efraim Thomas and Werner !Kharuxab bronze medals.

At the SA Senior and Cadet Greco Roman Championships, Goliath won gold Efraim Thomas, Werner !Kharuxab and Prinsley Swartz won silver and Phillipus Agas won a bronze medal.

At the SA Youth and Junior Freestyle Championships, Cleopatra Hubsch, Kevin Vleermuis, Martha Taneni, Marcellino Jaars and Veiko Nghishoong won gold medals, while Vernon Vleermuis won silver and Ester David, Asino Festus and Devin Benhard bronze medals.

At the SA Youth and Junior Greco Roman Championship, Veiko Nghishoong, Kevin Vleermuis, Marcellino Jaars and Prinsley Swartz won gold medals Vernon Vleermuis and Werner !Kharuxab won silver medals and Asino Festus, Devin Benhard, Linus Katuyanda and Romio Goliath won bronze medals.

The After School Centre won the Wrestling Club of the Year award the president of the Namibia Wrestling Federation, Dawie Augustyn won the Official of the Year award and Leonora Henning won the Administrator of the Year award.

Source : The Namibian