Goodwill Khoa New King of Blitz

Namibian champion Goodwill Khoa added another title to his list of accomplishments when he scooped the Independence Blitz Chess Tournament scoring 10 out of 11 points.

Khoa, the 2013 national champion, had an impressive tourney, suffering only one defeat at the hands of Otto Nakapunda who finished third with 8.5 points.

Four-time champion Charles Eichab was the runner-up after scoring 9.5 points. “I had my eyes on a fifth Blitz title, but it wasn’t to be. The young ones are coming through the ranks now and giving us problems,” a disappointed Eichab said.

The 24-year-old Khoa, a teacher at Jan Mohr, was surprisingly not too elated with his win. “I still don’t feel good enough I’m not 100% happy. There’s still a lot of work to be done because everybody’s getting ger.”

“It was a well organized tournament and I’d like to thank Unam Khomasdal Campus for the venue,” he added. Johannes Nyandi and Immanuel Gariseb finished fourth and fifth, respectively, to win some cash prizes.

The tournament saw 75 participants battle it out for top honours. Jolly Nepando again won the Best Woman’s Award award for the second successive season. In the U8 age group Owen Gous was the only player to complete all the games and was awarded the top prize.

Hewicke Uatjiri won the U10 category followed by Jushua Mulokoshi and Jody Hoveka in second and third places respectively.

Kevin Gurarab took bronze in the U12 age-group won by Aldo Horn and Dante Beukes were the joint winners of the U12 age group category after both finished with 6 points, while none of the three tie-breaks (direct encounter, progressive score and most wins) could separate the two youngsters. Kevin Gurarab came third.

In the Under 14 category, Hiren Naidoo edged out second-placed Mubasen Hochobeb and third-placed Nguno Vilho.

Former National Women’s champion Nicola Tjaronda took home the Under 16 title followed by Shikufa Haitembu and Etu Nangula.

Montgomery Gurirab, Kaakunga Kumujeke and Dyllan Bedja were the top three in the Under 18 section while the trio of Immanuel Gariseb, William Kamberipa and Matjiua Kajovi topped the Under 20 section.

The NCF took over the sponsorship and organizing of the event from NamSports. “We’d like to the NamSports for having carried this tournament since its inception in 2006,” remarked NCF PRO McLean Handjaba.

The NCF forked out N$4 000 towards cash prizes.

Source : The Namibian