Grootfontein teacher is Nantu’s new Otjozondjupa chairperson

GROOTFONTEIN: Grootfontein Senior Secondary School teacher, Innocent Madonsa is the new chairperson of the Namibia National Teachers’ Union (Nantu)’s Otjozondjupa regional executive leadership.

Nantu held a one-day elective conference for the Otjozondjupa Region to elect the union’s new regional leadership at Grootfontein on Saturday.

The conference was held under the theme ‘Hard work, dedication and professionalism for quality education in the country’.

Nantu Deputy Secretary-General, Loide Shaanika oversaw the election.

Nantu was founded in 1989, and at present 15 600 of the 24 000 teachers countrywide are registered members of the union.

Shaanika called on members at the elective conference to elect leaders whom they are sure would be able to unite teachers countrywide.

Seventy delegates from the six Nantu branches in the Otjozondjupa Region – Okahandja, Okakarara, Otjiwarongo, Otavi, Grootfontein and Tsumkwe – attended the conference.

Former Nantu chairperson for the region, Peacock Mbakera announced the election results at the Omulunga Community Hall, where the conference took place, on Saturday evening.

Mbakera said the position of regional chairperson was contested by Madonsa and a teacher from Khorab Senior Secondary School in the Otavi district, Raphael Utseb.

Madonsa garnered the majority of the votes, while Utseb only received 17 votes.

Job Nambili, a teacher at Paresis Senior Secondary School in Otjiwarongo, was voted into the position of deputy regional chairperson, while Maria Chinyama a teacher at JG van der Wath in Okahandja, became Nantu’s Otjozondjupa regional secretary.

Chinyama is deputised by Rudolph Thomas, who is employed at Karundu Primary School in Otjiwarongo.

Letisia Kalwenya, a teacher at Nau-Aib Primary School in Okahandja, is now Nantu’s Otjozondjupa treasurer, while Benfried Kaapehi, the principal of Ludwig Ndinda Primary School in Okakarara is the new regional secretary for the organising committee.

Joseph Gideon, a Head of Department at Spes Bona Primary School in Otjiwarongo, is the new information and publicist officer for the region.

Coblenz Senior Secondary School HOD Siegfriedine Kazohua is the new Otjozondjupa regional gender co-ordinator.

The newly elected Nantu regional leadership will serve a five-year term.

The independent election observer team leader from the National Youth Service (NYS), Ephraim Tutjavi declared that the election proceedings were free and fair.