Gurirab, Stephanus, Somaeb Finalists for NPL Player of the Year Award

Brian Gurirab, Willy Stephanus and Hendrik Somaeb have been shortlisted for the MTC Premiership Player of the Season award.

According to a press release issued by the NPL, the three players are the finalists for the N$30 000 award which will be announced on Friday, 18 July at the MTC Premiership Awards Ceremony.

The experienced Gurirab captained Orlando Pirates this season and helped them finish third on the log. A regular midfielder, he reverted to the central defensive position this season and played a major role in guiding their defence.

Black Africa winger Willy Stephanus played a major role in Black Africa’s league success, helping them win an unprecedented fourth successive league title. Stephanus created numerous goals with his tricky runs down the wing, while he was also a first-choice member of the Brave Warriors.

Somaeb was this season’s top marksman, with 17 goals in 22 matches and will also win the N$15 000 award for the Top Goalscorer of the season.

He helped Blue Waters finish fifth on the log, their highest position in recent years, while his fine form saw him being recalled to the Brave Warriors squad.

Stephanus and Somaeb have also been shortlisted for the N$20 000 MTC Premiership Players Player of the Season award, along with Tigers midfielder Protash Kabwe.

Three coaches have been shortlisted for the MTC Premiership Coach of the Season award of N$20 000. They are Black Africa coach Brian Isaacs who guided BA to their fourth consecutive Premiership title African Stars coach Woody Jacobs, who guided his team to second place and Tura Magic coach Timo Tjongarero who took his team to sixth place on the log.

Three referees have been shortlisted for the MTC Premiership Referee of the Season award of N$10 000, namely Jonas Shongedi of the Oshana region, Martin Ndara of the Kavango region, and Reinhold Malima of the Khomas region.

The finalists for the MTC Premiership Assistant Referee of the Season award of N$5 000 are Christof Vries of the Karas region, John Maseka of the Kavango region and Mathew Kanyanga of the Khomas region.

The MTC Premiership awards ceremony will be held at the Safari Hotel and will start at 18h00 on Friday.

Source : The Namibian