Heads of diplomatic missions meet Pohamba

WINDHOEK; President Hifikepunye Pohamba on Wednesday received 14 new Heads of Diplomatic Missions at State House.

He said the relations between Namibia and the diplomats’ countries are excellent, and wished that they follow in the footsteps of their predecessors.

The Ambassadors and High Commissioners are from Zimbabwe, Portugal, United States of America, Egypt, Cuba, Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic, Swaziland, Uruguay, Kenya, Chad, Croatia, Netherlands, Korea and Serbia.

The ceremony was also attended by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah.

Speaking at the ceremony on behalf of Senior Heads of Missions, Ambassador of Zimbabwe to Namibia, Rofina Ndakaziva Chikaza said their objectives and priorities are to enhance all aspects of relations between Namibia and their respective countries.

“We look forward to fruitful engagements with your government, its business sector, your people and all sectors of the community for mutual benefit of our peoples,” she said.

Ndakaziva added that their countries are committed to sustainable and transformational economies through value-addition, infrastructure development, and enhancing environmental programmes to ensure that resources are used in a responsible manner.

She stated that the Southern African Development Community (SADC) states and its development partners will share a global commitment to ensure that a development agenda is put in place to complete the United Nations’ Millennium Development Goals (MDG), with poverty eradication as a priority.