Keetmanshoop councillors retain positions

KEETMANSHOOP: All five serving Keetmanshoop municipal political office-bearers were re-elected in their positions during the annual election of office-bearers held on Tuesday.

Mayor Moses Titus of the DTA of Namibia retained his position to serve as mayor for the last year in his five-year term.

Deputy mayor Gabriel Freyer of the Swapo-Party was also re-elected unopposed.

Willem Kotze of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) returned to his seat as chairperson of the management committee, while Margaret Snewe of the Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN) and Matilde Isaaks of the RDP were also re-elected as members of the management committee.

The five councillors nominated and seconded each other. Ordinary committee members and Swapo councillors Nicholas Jansen van Vuuren and Veronica Asino also took part in the election process. Kotze’s nomination of Titus as mayor was seconded by Snewe, while Van Vuuren nominated Freyer. His selection was seconded by Asino. Titus in turn nominated Kotze and this was seconded by Isaaks.

Keetmanshoop magistrate Philanda Christiaan presided over the proceedings and conducted the swearing-in ceremony of the mayor and deputy mayor.

Titus thanked his colleagues for their support and said the focus for the remainder of their term should rest on the development and provision of erven and the creation of job opportunities in Keetmanshoop.

The current five-year term of office for the councilors ends in November 2015.