Kenya Hosts Women’s Africa Cup 7s Rugby

The Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos County, Kenya will play host to this year’s Confederation of African Rugby’s Women’s Africa Cup Sevens, which gets underway tomorrow.

Namibia is among eight of Africa’s finest women’s sevens rugby teams together with continental champions South Africa, hosts Kenya, Uganda, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Tunisia and Madagascar. The eight nations will do battle in the quest to be crowned queens of African sevens rugby at the close of business tomorrow evening. This year’s tourney will be a one-day affair with the eight participating teams having been divided into two pools of four. The top two sides from both pools will earn automatic qualification for the semifinals, while the bottom two are to contest for the bowl semis. The hosts, Kenya lead Pool A alongside reigning champions South Africa, Senegal and Madagascar, while Namibia is paired with last year’s losing finalists Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe in Pool-B. By Staff Reporter

Source : New Era