Khomas Boxing Championship a Huge Success

The annual Khomas boxing championship proved a huge success as the event attracted more than 70 amateur boxers who grilled each other in search for top honours at the A Shipena School Hall on Friday and Saturday.

All six clubs affiliated to the Khomas Boxing Federation (KBF) took part in the two-day championship. The clubs are led by Golden Boxing Club (GBC), Soweto Boxing Club (SBC), Hooly Boxing Club (HBC), After School Centre (ASC) – Under the Ministry of Gender Equality and Child Welfare, MTC Nestor Tobias Boxing and Fitness Academy (MTC) and Warriors Promotion (WP).

Besides nurturing and identifying raw talent, the championship was also aimed at selecting the cregraveme de la cregraveme who will represent the Khomas region at various national championships. The selected boxers will be announced in a few days’ time.

KBF spokesperson, Imms Moses, thanked the public for attending the event saying “their presence gave us assurance that they are supporting our humble objective of keeping the youth off the streets by fully getting them involved with boxing. By so doing, the youngsters are also promoting a healthy lifestyle while staying away from alcohol, drug abuse and other social evils”.

“I also have to say thank you to Latcho Abed of Hakahana Meat Market and Edwin Bassingthwaighte, who both assisted the federation in making this event a resounding success. The championship could have not taken place without their unwavering support.”

Moses, however, said the federation is faced with challenges such as lack of adequate training equipment. Moses said they are in dire need of refreshments (Still Water), towels, sport bags and tracksuits, to mention but a few.

He urged local businesses and all good Samaritans to assist either in kind or financially. “We will ensure that whatever we are given will be used for the intended purposes. Financial contributions can be done through our bank account with the following details: Name: Khomas Boxing Federation, Account No: 62251626829 Type: Business cheque account Branch: John Meinert. For donations we can be contacted at this number 0812556777 (Rebang).”

Results of the finals are as



22 kg – Philpus Nyjamba (ASC) winner – walkover

24 kg – Japhet Nyjamba (ASC) winner – walkover

26 kg – Ndemufao Jnr Sylvester (ASC) winner – walkover

28 kg – Martin Iilwenya (SBC) vs Licuis Kafita (ASC) (winner)

30 kg – Elifas Shailemo (SBC) winner – walkover

32 kg – Andreas Nghilongwa (SBC) vs Gideon Philemon (ASC) (winner)

34 kg – Spiegel Lucano (SBC) winner vs Godforce Aihuki (ASC)

36 kg – Shilunga Dorian (ASC) winner vs Mandene Godfried (SBC)

38 kg – Antonio Narib (GBC) vs Ngilongwa Immanuel (SBC) (winner)

42 kg – Petrus David (SBC) winner – walkover

46 kg – Tuafeni Frans (ASC) vs Isaack Swarts (GBC) (winner)

48 kg – Bradley Muniazo (MTC) winner – walkover

52 kg – Ruri Malakia (MTC) winner – walkover

54 kg – Phelep Alweendo (ASC) winner – walkover

60 kg – Pendapala Kashila (GBC) winner vs Brenden Marubi (SBC)

66 kg – Vetarapi Muhuko (MTC) winner – walkover

75 kg – Gehardus Du Plooy (SBC) winner – walkover

Elite men

Light Flyweight – Theodor Nuuyoma (MTC) winner – walkover

Flyweight – Matheus Sem (MTC) winner vs Titus Thomas (WP)

Featherweight – Shooya Shaanika (MTC) winner vs Shoko Joy (HBC)

Lightweight – Hosea Ekongo (SBC) winner vs Adreas Johannes (MTC)

Light Welterweight – Lamankuluka Ngifikwa (WP) winner vs Sondy Usko (MTC)

Welterweight – Shaanika Itewa (MTC) winner vs Shivolo Kleofas (WP)

Middle Weight – Hebert Negumbo (MTC) winner vs Sakeus Johannes (WP)

Light Heavy Weight – Paulinus Ndjolominu (MTC) winner – walkover

Heavy Weight – Vermuelen Johannes (SBC) winner – walkover

Super Heavy weight – Kapena Appolus (SBC) winner – walkover


Best Senior Boxer: Shaanika Itewa (MTC)

Best Junior Boxer: Dorian Shilunga (ASC)

Best Cadet Boxer: Martin Iilwenya (SBC)

Best Club of the Championship: After School Centre

Club of the Year: After School Centre

Coach of the Year: Johannes Ishono (ASC)

Chairman’s Award: Memory Manasse (Secretary General KBF)

Source : New Era