Little over half of Tsumkwe residents to vote

TSUMKWE; Only 5 917 people in the Tsumkwe Constituency registered to vote on Friday.

The constituency is home to over 10 000 people, mostly members of the San Community, who irk out a living by herding cattle and as farm labourers.

The Presidential and National Assembly elections will take place this Friday.

“We are pretty sure that the majority of the registered people will come on Friday to exercise their democratic rights to vote for the presidential candidate of their choice as well as new members of the National Assembly,” said Pinehas Amadhila, the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s Returning Officer responsible for the Tsumkwe Constituency.

He told Nampa here on Wednesday morning that each presiding officer of the constituency’s eight fixed and 20 mobile polling stations had already received motor vehicles, and are ready to serve the people of Tsumkwe to the best of their ability.

The eight fixed polling stations in the Tsumkwe area are at the Gam Voters’ Education Centre; Tsumkwe Community Hall; Mangetti Dune Church; Rooidag Gate Primary School; Omatako Primary School; M’Kata Primary School; Eden Farm; and Aasvoelnes Primary School.

A total of 1 241 194 Namibians have registered to vote.

Voting begins at 07h00 sharp at all fixed polling stations. The mobile polling stations have different opening and closing times.

A total of 16 political parties are contesting the elections.

They are All People’s Party (APP), Christian Democratic Voice Party (CDV), Congress of Democrats (CoD), Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN), DTA of Namibia (DTA), Monitor Action Group (MAG), National Democratic Party (NDP), Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF), National Unity Democratic Party (NUDO), Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), Republic Party of Namibia (RP), SWANU of Namibia (SWANU), SWAPO-Party of Namibia (SWAPO), United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF), United People’s Movement of Namibia (UPM), and the Workers Revolutionary Party (WRP).

The presidential candidates are Ignatius Shixwameni of the APP; Ben Ulenga (CoD), McHenry Venaani (DTA), Ephafras Mukwiilongo (NEFF), Hidipo Hamutenya (RDP), Henry Ferdinand Mudge (RP), Asser Mbai (NUDO), Usutuaije Maamberua (SWANU), and Hage Geingob (SWAPO).