Local coaches training for CAF C Licence

WINDHOEK: Seventeen local coaches are currently upgrading their football coaching qualifications at Soccer House in the capital.

They are undergoing training in the Confederation of African Football (CAF) C Licence coaching course’s first block, which started on Tuesday last week and ends on Friday.

The second and final block is scheduled for 30 June to 04 July 2014.

The course was earlier postponed from last October due to low interest, but is now taking place after 17 coaches expressed interest.

A media statement from the Namibia Football Association (NFA) said on Wednesday that the course participants, who are all coaches at either clubs, schools or academies, are being introduced to aspects like the NFA’s coaching and licensing system; how to conduct fitness and technical tests; how to plan for training sessions; basic football techniques, as well as shooting and warm-up programmes; youth training; introduction to game systems and tactics; the importance of players’ conditioning; and the Laws of the Game.

The course instructors are Klaus Staerk, the NFA’s Technical Director; Willy Kapukare (CAF Instructor); Jacqui Shipanga (International Federation of Football Associations’ (FIFA)/NFA Instructor); Woody Jacobs (NFA Instructor); Brian Isaacks (NFA Instructor); and Timo Tjongarero (NFA Instructor).

The Laws of the Game session will be dealt with by the NFA Referees’ Instructor Boy-Boy Ndjadila, while the session on nutrition and sports medicine will be covered by Donatha Ngunovandu and Dr. Gerson Kandjii.

The participants are Stephen Aochamub (Sports Klub Windhoek), Gilroy Xoagub (Special Olympics), Michael Pienaar (Orlando Pirates), Collen Gusha (King Pele Santos), Tobias Herman (Women’s Department), Konis Asino (Ramblers), Erastus Ndjavera (Tura Magic), Phillemon Shikwambi (Namibia Schools’ Sports Union(NSSU), Albert !Ganeb (Tura Kosmos), Limbo Haragaeb (Limbo Football Academy), Lesley !Uirab (NSSU), Rodney !Kaneb (Omaruru Youth Development), Nelson Musisheni (Air Masters), Sililo Carlos (Katima Wanderers), Kanyanso Mathews (Eastern Chiefs), Silas Haindongo (Air Masters) and Keutsepilemang Ndebele from Witbank Tshwane University of Technology in South Africa.