Marburg Farm Allocated to Beneficiaries

THE Minister of Lands and Resettlement, Alpheus !Naruseb, on Friday allocated farm units at the Marburg government resettlement farm to selected beneficiaries.

He said the selection process for the resettlement of the residents of Farm Marburg was not an easy task as the farm had already been occupied by generational farm workers, and more community members were also desperate to be resettled on this piece of land.

Farm Marburg is situated 58 kilometres north of Otjiwarongo near the Okorusu Fluorspar Mine in the Otjozondjupa Region.

The minister issued resettlement letters to the beneficiaries.

Efraim Garab, Frans Oabeb, Toivo Matheus, Obed Tsaeb, Martha Oabes, Christofine Inanses, Hilde Soroses and Esegiel !Nanuseb were resettled on Marburg number 1, unit B.

Thusnelde Tjiriange was also resettled on Farm Okorusu number 88, unit B. She was initially resettled on Farm Marburg number 1 unit B some years ago, and on Friday she was relocated to Okorusu number 88 unit B as part of a joint decision taken by Tjiriange and the ministry.

!Naruseb reminded the beneficiaries that they are responsible for the maintenance of the farm units, and urged them to utilise the units properly.

He also aised the newly resettled farmers to live in harmony with each other and concentrate on improving their livelihoods.

“I would also like to thank the community members of Farm Marburg and Okorusu government resettlement farms for the manner in which they conducted themselves during the process of resettling these new beneficiaries as well as finalising the administrative processes of the exercise,” he said.

!Naruseb was accompanied by Otjozondjupa Governor Samuel Nuuyoma, Otavi Constituency Regional Councillor Ndapewa Nambili, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Lands and Resettlement Lidwina Shapwa and several administration officers.


Source : The Namibian