Mike Kavekotora shows dissatisfaction over party’s performance

WINDHOEK: The opposition Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) is mulling the possibility of embarking upon a complete re-organization of its structures and objectives to address the factors that led to the party’s poor performance in last year’s general elections.

The party’s Secretary-General, Mike Kavekotora told Nampa in an interview at the weekend that the RDP’s performance during the November 2014 elections was not in accordance with their expectations.

The RDP performed dismally and lost its official opposition status to the DTA of Namibia.

The party also lost five of the eight seats they had in the National Assembly, while they had targeted to increase them to at least 25 seats.

The RDP Members of Parliament (MPs) who lost seats are Agnes Limbo, Heiko Lucks, Peter Naholo, Kandy Nehova and Anton von Wietersheim.

Only party President Hidipo Hamutenya, Vice-President Steve Bezuidenhoudt and Kavekotora will be representing the party in the upper House of Parliament from 21 March this year.