MTC/NPL awards set for next Saturday

WINDHOEK; The Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC)/Namibia Premier League (NPL) awards ceremony for the 2014/2015 season is set for Saturday.

This was announced by the Head of Marketing and Communication of the NPL Management Committee, Cassius Moetie in a media statement availed to Nampa on Friday.

“We are hosting this event to award all the deserving footballers and administrators who have worked hard and delivered their best beyond the call of duty to improve the game and football in general during the 2014/2015 season,” he said.

Moetie said the organising committee has promised to stage the ‘best’ awards ceremony ever. Various local artists will perform during the ceremony at a hotel in the capital.

African Stars are league champions and will receive their trophy, and N.dollars 1 million.

Orlando Pirates’ Nicky Musambani will receive an award and N.dollars 15 000 as the season’s Top Goal Scorer.

Musambani has also been nominated for the Player of the Season category together with Peter Shalulile (Tura Magic) and Pat-Nevin Uanivi (African Stars). The winner will receive a trophy and N.dollars 30 000.

The same players have been nominated for the Players’ Player of the Season category, where the winner will walk away with N.dollars 20 000.

The other categories and nominees:

Coach of the Season with prize money of N.dollars 20 000:

Lucky Kakuva (Orlando Pirates)

Woody Jacobs (African Stars)

Bobby Samaria (Tigers FC)

Referee of the Season (N.dollars 10 000):

Moses Markus (//Karas Region)

Leston Nangombe (Kunene Region)

Reinhold Malima (Khomas Region)

Assistant Referee (N.dollars 5 000)

Alex Lumponjani (Zambezi Region)

Johannes Jeremia (Erongo Region)

Christof Vries (//Karas Region)