Namibian Sevens Team for African Champs

Four members of the senior Namibian rugby team currently on tour in France, have been included in the Namibian Sevens team for the Windhoek Draught Confederation of African Rugby Sevens Championship, which takes place in Harare, Zimbabwe at the end of November.

Russell van Wyk, David Philander, Johan Tromp and Darryl De La Harpe are in the 12-man squad for the tournament.

In total their are five players in the team who have played international rugby for Namibia after scrumhalf Arthur Bouwer was also included.

The Namibian Sevens group, under coach Vince Dreyer, has been hard at work for a considerable time now preparing for the tournament that will be hosted at the Harare Sports Club from Saturday 29 November to Sunday 30 November.

The event is the front runner of next year’s African Olympic Qualification tournament that will determine who will represent the continent at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The other teams participating in the tournament are South Africa (SARU Academy), Kenya (Shujaa), Botswana, Zambia, Tunisia, Senegal, Nigeria, the Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Uganda and the hosts Zimbabwe.

The Namibian Sevens team is as follows:

1. Handregrave Bezuidenhout

2. Morten van Kradenburg

3. Darryl De La Harpe

4. Aurelio Plato

5. Justin Nel

6. Lean Stoop

7. David Philander

8. Johan Tromp

9. Christo van der Merwe

10. Arthur Bouwer

11. Tuna Amutenya

12. Russell van Wyk.

Coach : Vince Dreyer

Source : The Namibian