National Rugby Squad Selected

A Namibian rugby squad of 35 players has been selected for upcoming international matches following national trials which were held in Windhoek on Saturday morning.

The squad includes several newcomers although the bulk consists of local-based players who have been in the national squad this season.

Some of the newcomers include hooker SJ Poggenpoel, flyhalf Stiaan van der Merwe who still played for Elnatan Private School this year and centre JC Greyling who plays club rugby in Ireland, and flew in especially to attend the trials.

Other youngsters who flew in to attend the trials and made the squad are Janco Venter of Western Province Rugby Institute and Lions Academy centre Daniel Arries.

Coach Danie Vermeulen said players from the National Sevens squad or the National U20 squad still had a chance of being called up to the national squad.

The national squad will prepare for the a tour to Europe in November when they will play Canada, Portugal and a French Barbarians side.

The Namibia Rugby union is also busy planning a warmup match in Windhoek for 1 November although the opponent has not been named.

The Namibian training squad is as follows:


Franklin Bertolini, Jaco Engels, Johnny Redelinghuys, Rathony Becker, Shaun du Preez, Quintin Esterhuizen, SJ Poggenpoel, Theo Coetzee, Andre Schlechter, Mune Tjiueza, Morne Blom, Nico Esterhuyse, Stefan Neustadt, Ulrich Engels, Tinus du Plessis, Thomasau Forbes, DG Wiese, Victor Rodrigues, Janco Venter.


Eniell Buitendag, Cameron Klaazen, Arthur Bouwer, Mahco Prinsloo, Justin Nel, Stiaan van der Merwe, Malcolm Moore, Johan Tromp, Daniel Arries, Shaun Kaizemi, Darryl de la Harpe, Armand Pienaar, Jacques Nell, JC Greyling, Quinton Fielding, Russel van Wyk.

Source : The Namibian