Nel succesfully defends AFRO Pumps Archery shoot title

WINDOEK: Louw Nel defended his title in the compound men’s category of the AFRO Pumps Archery Shoot played last weekend at the SKW sports grounds in Olympia.

A media statement issued the Archery Association of Namibia’s secretary Karola Woortman on Thursday stated that a total of 26 archers from all over the country participated in 10 different categories.

According to Woortman, the participants had to shoot a 720 round during qualification to determine how they will be ranked for the elimination round that followed shortly thereafter.

“It was in the qualification round that Nel really made his presence felt, scoring an exceptional 680 points,” said Woortman.

Rikus Grobler was the second best shooter during qualification, accumulating 625 points.

“Both Nel and Grobler cruised through their elimination rounds to square off against each other in what promised to be a riveting final,” she said.

She stated that both rivals set up a good display but there was no stopping Nel who used his momentum to eventually beat Grobler with a score of 142 points to 125 points.

Woortman added that during qualification in the women’s compound division, Ilana Malan was the stand-out archer, scoring an impressive 676 points, while Connie Smit underlined her title ambitions as she scored 634 points, the second best score in this division.

“The pair continued their run of form throughout the elimination round to meet in the final once again as with Nel, Malan was in a class of her own while Smit showed great ability, but it wasn’t enough to fend off Malan who took top honours with 138 points to Smit’s 129 points,” she said.

The compound cadet men’s category was won by Warren Smit as he edged out Jackson Engel in the final with scores of 128 to 122 respectively.

Anton Zietsman won the compound master men’s division, beating Moritz Hoff in their final with scores of 133 to 119. Hoff finished in second place, followed by Harvey Park who came in third on Saturday.

Other winners:

Compound beginner:

1. Taro Samuelson

Recurve Men:

1. Paul Grobler

Recurve Cadet Men:

1. Adriaan Gorbler

Compound Junior Women:

1. Jolien Els

Compound Cup Boys U15:

1. Gidoen Brink

2. Doane Penderis

Compound Boys U13:

1. Dirk de Bod

2. Marius Wessels

Recurve Cub Boys U15:

1. Morne Meyer