Ohangwena Residents Vote

RESIDENTS of Ohangwena constituency started voting in the by-election race contested by candidates of Swapo and the Rally for Democracy and Progress early this morning.

The Electoral Commission of Namibia returning officer responsible for the Ohangwena constituency by-election, Lisias Kandjene Haiduwa, said there have been no hiccups so far or any technical problems experienced in the first one hour and half and all 33 poling stations were opened by 07h00.

Haiduwa said the governor of Ohangwena Usko Nghaamwa was amongst the first to cast their votes.

“People are showing up in big numbers, there is definitely a lot of interest,” said Haiduwa.

There are 132 polling officers deployed at the polling stations across the constituency. About 10 000 people are expected to cast their votes.

Polling stations will be open until 21h00 tonight.

It is the first time that Namibia is using the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM).

The position of the Ohangwena constituency councillor is being contested by Swapo candidate, retired teacher Johannes Hakanyome, and RDP candidate, local businessman Vilho Shimwooshili.

The Ohangwena constituency by-election was necessitated by the death earlier this year of former Swapo Party councillor Maria Kombwana.

Source : The Namibian