Otjiwarongo mayor re-elected

OTJIWARONGO; Otjiwarongo mayor Hilda Jesaja was re-elected in her position during the annual election of office-bearers held here on Friday.

Jesaja has been the mayor of Otjiwarongo since 2010.

The election was held at the Otjiwarongo Municipality Chambers.

No change was made to other political leadership positions as Archillaus Namaseb was also re-elected as deputy mayor.

Bennes Haimbondi returns to his position as chairperson of the Otjiwarongo Municipality’s management committee, and he will be deputised by Julius Neumbo.

Dirk van Niekerk was re-elected as member of the council’s management committee, whilst Anna Nakatana was seconded to the position of council’s management committee member.

Samuel Awaseb remained as ordinary council member.

The Otjiwarongo Town Council is managed by seven local authority councillors, the majority of whom are from the Swapo-Party – Jesaja (mayor), Namaseb (deputy mayor), Haimbondi (management committee chairperson) and his deputy, Neumbo.

Van Niekerk is from the Rate Payers’ Association, Nakatana from the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), and Awaseb from the United Democratic Front (UDF).

They are all expected to serve in the council until November 2015.

In her acceptance speech, Jesaja promised to carry out her duties as mayor fairly and diligently.

“I intend to fulfill my role to the best of my ability. I look forward to your continued contributions, commitment and support in making the lives of our community better,” she said.

The Otjiwarongo Magistrate, Helvi Shilemba, swore Jesaja in as mayor in the presence of less than 50 community members who attended the event.