Paralympics Committee Elects New Leadership

The Namibia Paralympics Committee (NPC) elected its new leadership over the weekend in the capital, which saw a handful of fresh blood being injected into the organisation that has become the pride of the country.

During an elective congress that was held at the Tabitha Centre in Windhoek, Johannes Litwaye was elected as the new president, while Daniel Kutalika was elected as vice-president.

Former executive member Nicklaus Nghumono is the organisation’s new treasurer.

Michael Hamukwaya, who is the NPC’s long-serving coach and the man widely accredited for the success of Paralympics gold and silver medalist Johanna Benson, was overwhelmingly elected as the new secretary general.

Hamukwaya replaces veteran sports administrator Penandino Kandjii, who will now fully redirect her energy to her functions on the International Paralympics Committee (IPC) Women’s Committee, while also partly aising and assisting the new leadership. Additional members are Emily Shipweya (Oshana) and Ananias Nuule (Omusati).

Kandjii the outgoing secretary general expressed satisfaction with the overall manner in which the elections were conducted, saying the new leadership would seek to maintain the good current status quo and strive to take the organisation to greater heights as well.

“Before I congratulate the incoming leadership, I wholeheartedly want to thank the outgoing leadership for a job well done. We started from nothing and with no sponsors, but today Para-athletes have become the toast of the nation and sponsors like Coca Cola, the German Embassy, NamPower , MVA Fund and the sports directorate under retired Dr Vetumbuavio Veii have all become unwavering partners, all due to our hard work and the athletes’ commitment,” said Kandjii. Kandjii’s able leadership inspired the nation at large and in the process brought a new meaning to disability sports.

Namibian Paralympians have in recent times emerged head and shoulders above the rest, delivering some sterling performances at high-class international events.

The athletes have on each and every occasion brought home fruitful results, despite the odds stacked against them.

Para-athletes such as Benson, Leahja Ishitile, Johannes Nambala, Ananias Shikongo, Marthin Aloisious, Reginald Benade, amongst other stars, went on to inspire aspiring youngsters such as Anna Kambinda and Johanna Katjikuru through their breathtaking performances.

Source : New Era