RDPYL Elects New Leadership

The Rally for Democracy and Progress Youth League (RDPYL) elected Marvin Veseevete as the party youth league secretary general to be deputised by Justine Itoolwa, chairperson of the RDPYL preparatory committee, Nicanor Ndjoze confirmed on Monday.

The RDPYL elected new leadership at a conference in Windhoek over the weekend. The election came after the High Court earlier this year ordered the party to nullify the entire youth league leadership elected at Keetmanshoop in 2013.

The congress also elected 20 delegates to the national extra-ordinary convention of the RDP and 41 RDP youth league central committee members.

Veseevete, former youth league secretary Sibuku Malumbano, together with Steve Kevanhu, was in 2013 suspended for apparently siding Kandy Nehova as their preferred candidate for the party’s top seat during that year.

Malumbano, Kevanhu and Veseevete walked out of the 2013 Keetmanshoop youth league convention alleging the convention was tainted with favouritism between the splinter groups of Hamutenya and Nehova. In their absence, the convention adopted a vote of no confidence in them and subsequently elected Monica Nambelela as the league secretary.

Despite chaos at the conference, Ndjoze said the meeting had been concluded. “The party youth league congress elected Veseevete as the secretary general to be deputise by Itoolwa,” he said.

The other contenders for the position of secretary general were Nambelela and Telvin Gawaseb.

Source : New Era