Remaining Time of Stars, Pirates Match to Resume Next Month

Following days of uncertainty in the aftermath of the much hyped MTC Premiership abbreviated clash between traditional Katutura rivals FNB Orlando Pirates and African Stars last week Wednesday, the hierarchy at the country’s flagship league has finally made up their mind.

In a media statement released late yesterday afternoon the NPL revealed that the match was abandoned as a result of a power outage that affected the entire Katutura East constituency. The NPL Management Committee (MC) perused the referee’s match report, including that of the Match Commissioner and letters from both Pirates and Stars pertaining to the matter. A decision was therefore taken in accordance with NFA rules and regulations 10.6 and 10.12 that the remaining minutes of the match as per the referee’s report will be resumed as a continuation of the abandoned match, to comply with the aforesaid regulations.

The tie will now resume on the 6th of next month at the same venue at 19h00.

Outside the boardroom, the race for the coveted MTC Premiership title is likely to take a definite shape when frontrunners Black Africa and Tigers square off in what most believe will be the definitive title decider at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek tonight at 19h00. Also, rejuvenated Ramblers greet MTC Premiership yo-yo team PC Blue Waters in a relegation dogfight at what has become their slaughterhouse, the Ramblers field in Pionierspark, south of the capital tomorrow at 16h00. Buoyed by last weekend’s gutsy performance that saw them manufacture a well-deserved 1-all draw against Namibian champions Black Africa, relegation threatened Rundu Chiefs entertain LHU Blue Waters in the curtain raiser of a double header, at the Rundu Sports field at 12h30, featuring United Stars and title chasing FNB Orlando Pirates in the main match. Elsewhere, basement dwellers Eleven Arrows welcome wobbling African Stars at the Kuisebmund Stadium to wrap up proceedings in round 18 of the MTC Premiership clashes. Unless otherwise stated all matches start at 15h00.

Source : New Era