Rössing Marathon Pegged for Valentines Day

The 24th Roumlssing Marathon National Championship will take place at Swakopmund’s athletics stadium on Saturday, 14 February 2015.

The 42 km annual running event, sponsored by Roumlssing Uranium and hosted by Swakop Striders Athletics Club, crowns Namibia’s national marathon champions. The winners of the open categories will receive prizes totalling N$60,000, which includes N$10,000 cash each and an additional N$20,000 development bonus for the men’s and ladies’ marathon winners.

The development bonus is to help the winners further their careers throughout the year of their reign. Extra N$1,000 cash bonuses are up for grabs should the marathon records be broken in the open categories. The Roumlssing Marathon record of two hours, eleven minutes and twenty-three seconds (2:11:23) by Luketz Swartbooi was set in 1992. Mynhardt Kauanivi of the Namibian Police won the men’s open category last year in a time of two hours, twenty-five minutes and fourteen seconds (2:25:14). The ladies’ open champion was Alina Armas of the Namibian Defence Force, who won for the second year in a row.

Source : Namibia Economist