Rössing Marathon Set for Next Month

The 24th edition of the popular Roumlssing Marathon National Championship will take place at the Swakopmund’s Athletics Stadium early next month.

The 42-kilometre annual running event, sponsored by Roumlssing Uranium and hosted by Swakop Striders Athletics Club, crowns Namibia’s national marathon champions.

As for this year, winners of the open categories will receive prizes totalling N$60 000, which includes N$10 000 cash each and an additional N$20 000 development bonus for the men’s and ladies’ marathon winners.

The development bonus is to help the winners further their careers. Extra N$1 000 cash bonuses are up for grabs should the marathon records be broken in the open categories as well. Legendary runner Luketz Swartbooi set the Roumlssing Marathon record of 2:11:23 in 1992.

Mynhardt Kauanivi of the Namibian Police won the men’s open category last year in a time of 2:25:14. The ladies’ open champion was Alina Armas of the Namibian Defence Force, who won for the second year in a row.

Entry fees for the marathon is N$60 for Namibians and SADC runners and N$100 for international runners. The uranium mines’ 10-km relay event, 10-km run are all designed for athletes that prefer shorter routes and would still be part of this year’s activities.

There will also be a 10 km team relay event for mining companies in the Erongo Region – a social event aimed at promoting camaraderie and healthy lifestyles among mineworkers. The theme for this year’s Roumlssing Marathon is “Walk or run, and live a healthy life”.

Since February is the cancer awareness month, the fun-filled 5-km Fun Walk for charity will be in aid of the Cancer Association of Namibia (CAN). The fun walk includes an exciting competition for best costume, most original hat, tallest walker, youngest and oldest walkers and largest group that participates.

The coastal community is invited to show their support for cancer sufferers in Namibia by coming up with creative themes for the fun walk competition. Entry fee for the team relay is N$80 per team and for the fun walk N$10 per walker. All proceeds from these two events are donated to the CAN.

The event starts at 07h00 from the Swakopmund Athletics Stadium in Welwitschia Street, Vineta.

Registration for the marathon takes place at same stadium on 13 February in the evening.

Source : New Era