Round Six of Enduro Series

Round six of the Bank Windhoek Namibia National Enduro Championship Series took place at the Gallina Motocross racetrack last weekend, Saturday. The Series was co-sponsored by Sat-Com.

The fourth round of the Southern African Off-Road Championship (SORC) also took place at the same venue.

Seventy-seven riders took part of which 17 were foreign riders. This time around, the race was set up a little differently from previous races. All the riders had to do a lap of the MX track, before each lap of the very demanding route that snaked its way through the mountains of the farm.

The motocross racetrack was a challenging addition for many of the riders, as many of the Enduro riders had no motocross background and have never been on a prepared track with big jumps.

Riding in the Open class were Ross Branch, Jonathan van Wyk and Louw Schmidt from the Brother KTM racing team.

Ross won the B2 Class which is part of the SORC category. In second place was Henner Rusch followed by Jonathan van Wyk.

In the B1 Class, Ingo Waldschmidt took top honours followed by Joumlrn Greiter and Dale Holliday from Zambia.

Class B3 was won by Fanie Steenkamp and he was also the fastest quad rider of the day. In second place was Gary Rowland followed by Clinton Hilfiker.

Shannon Rowland won the B9 Class and she was also the fastest Ladies Quad of the day. She was followed by Maike Bochert in second place, while Chardri Monk from South Africa was third.

In the local results, Class 10 was won by Jakkie van Zyl followed by Immo Keil and Mark Johnston in second and third places respectively.

Franco Routh took top honours in Class 8 ahead of J.L. Opperman and Franco Junius.

Tom Moths rode to victory on board his new bike in Class 7, followed by Rainer Sentefol and Corne Visser in second and third places respectively.

In Class 5, Sven Schneidenberger returned to his winning ways by taking the first place, while Frank Ahlreip grabbed second spot, ahead of Martin Diekmann in third place.

Class 4, the National Ladies Quads, was won by Shannon Rowland three minutes ahead of second placed, Maike Bochert. Julia Moths came third.

Fanie Steenkamp won the National Quad Class by almost fifteen minutes ahead of second placed, Gary Rowland and third placed, Heiko Bernstein.

Class 2 was dominated by the man with the long legs Henner Rusch in 3 hours and 25 minutes. In second place was Ingo Waldschmidt who had exactly the same race time as third placed, Dirkie Baard. Ingo took second place because his last lap was faster than Dirkie’s.

It was the first time that there was a winner this season in Class 1. Marcel Henle took the top sport, edging out Claude Brendel by three minutes, followed by Joumlrn Greiter in third place.

“The Namibian Enduro Club would like to thank the organiser for a well organised event. Furthermore, we wish to also express our gratitude towards our sponsors for the day being Bank Windhoek, Sat-Com, Steel Force, Pupkewitz Honda and Olympia Pharmacy”, said Guumlnter Brettschneider, Chairman of the Namibian Enduro Club.

Source : The Namibian