Status Quo At Keetmans

THE opposition alliance has retained the majority of key positions in the Keetmanshoop Town Council for the fourth consecutive year.

During the annual mayoral election held at the municipal chambers on Tuesday, DTA councillor Moses Titus was re-elected unopposed as mayor, retaining the position for the fourth consecutive year.

Titus will be deputised by Swapo Party councillor Gabriel Freyer.

Three opposition councillors Willie Kotze (RDP), Mathilde Isaaks (RDP) and Margaret Snewe (DPN) also retained their positions as management committee members for the fourth consecutive year.

In his acceptance message, Titus said councillors had recorded both “successes and failures” since they took office in 2010, urging them to step up the delivery of land to the landless and job creation during the remainder of their tenure.

Source : The Namibian