Swapo and DTA to contest Otjiwarongo by-election

OTJIWARONGO; The Swapo-Party and DTA of Namibia will contest the Otjiwarongo by-election on 09 July this year.

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s Otjiwarongo Returning Officer, Sedekias Eiseb announced this in an interview with Nampa on Tuesday.

The Otjiwarongo by-election was necessitated by the appointment of former Otjiwarongo Constituency Regional Councillor, Otto Ipinge as Otjozondjupa Regional Governor in April this year, replacing Samuel Nuuyoma, who retired.

Eiseb said Emeralda Esme !Aebes will stand in the by-election on the DTA of Namibia’s ticket, while 61-year-old retired Karundu Primary School principal, Julius Neumbo will stand for the Swapo-Party.

“These two candidates registered with us last Wednesday. Neumbo submitted his application to our office on Wednesday morning and !Aebes did so the afternoon of the same day,” Eiseb explained.

Friday, 29 May, was the deadline set for political party candidates to submit their names to the ECN offices in Otjiwarongo.

The DTA of Namibia’s Otjozondjupa Regional Party Co-ordinator, Ushi Katjina on Tuesday confirmed !Aebes as the party’s candidate in the by-election, saying she is prepared and ready.

Katjina said their candidate is young and energetic, 31-year-old teacher by profession at Karundu Primary School in Otjiwarongo.

Neumbo is the Deputy Chairperson of the Otjiwarongo Town Council’s management committee, and the Swapo-Party’s Otjozondjupa regional treasurer.