Swapo leads in Tsumkwe Constituency

Tsumkwe: The ruling Swapo-Party convincingly leads other political parties in the just-ended National Assembly election in the Tsumkwe Constituency.

The results of the National Assembly election for the Tsumkwe Constituency as announced by Pinehas Amadhila, the Electoral Commission of Namibia

‘s Returning Officer here on Saturday morning are as follow:

1. All Peoples Party- 144

2. Christian Democratic Voice Party- 16

3. Congress of Democrats- 15

4. Democratic Party of Namibia- 7

5. DTA of Namibia- 394

6. Monitor Action Group- 20

7. Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters- 12.

8. National Democratic Party of Namibia- 8

9. National Unity Democratic Organisation- 763

10. Rally for Democracy and Progress- 55

11. Republican Party of Namibia- 19

12. Swanu of Namibia- 29

13. Swapo of Namibia- 2 455

14. United Democratic Front of Namibia- 26

15. United Peoples Movement- 22

16. Workers Revolutionary Party- 117

Total of voates cast were- 4 102

Total of votes spoiled- Zero

These results are provisional and are subject to a thorough verification process to be conducted by the ECN officials at its National Headquarters in Windhoek before they are being made final.

Tsumkwe is a constituency in the Otjozondjupa Region.

It has a population of about 10 000 inhabitants, and the district centre of the constituency is the settlement of Tsumkwe.

Other main centres and settlements are Gam, Rooidag Gate village and M’Kata, just to mention a few.

About 5, 917 people are reported to have registered as potential voters for the just-ednded Presidential and National Aseembly elections.

The ECN allocated a total of eight (8) fixed polling stations and 20 mobile teams for the Tsumkwe Constituency.

The eight fixed polling 16stations were Tsumkwe Settlement Community Hall, Gam Voters Education Office, Mangetti Dune Church, Rooidag Gate Primary School, Omatako Primary School, M’Kata Primary School, Eden Farm and Assvoelnes Primary School.

A total of about 1.2 milllion people have registered as potential voters for the Friday general elections.

Ignatius Shixwameni of the All Peoples Party, Congress of Democrats’Ben Ulenga, DTA of Namibia’s McHenry Venaani, Epafras Mukwiilongo of the Economic Freedom Fighters, Hidipo Hamutenya of the Rally for Democracy and Progress, Henry Mudge of the Republican Party, Assaer Mbai of the National Unity Democratic Organisation, SWANU of Namibia’s Usutuaije Maamberua and Hage Geingob of the Swapo Party of Namibia- were all vying for the position of the country’s new President.

Apart from Tsumkwe, other constituencies in Otjozondjupa Region are Grootfontein, Okahandja, Okakarara, Omatako, Otavi and Otjiwarongo.