Swapo wins in Walvis elections

WALVIS BAY; The Swapo-Party’s presidential candidate Hage Geingob started the 2014 Presidential election for sea-going employees with a landslide win of 1 347 votes during the election held here Friday.

This is out of the total of 1 435 votes cast.

In National Assembly election results for sea-going personnel, the Swapo-Party scooped 1 267 of the 1 342 votes.

Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) presidential candidate Hidipo Hamutenya came second with 56 votes.

The RDP also managed to win second place in the National Assembly election with 72 votes.

In third place was McHenry Venaani of the DTA of Namibia with 12 votes.

DTA failed to win the National Assembly third place in this election; with the Workers Revolutionary Party (WRP) taking third place with 25 votes.

Sixteen political parties participated in the elections, but only nine took part in the presidential elections.

The results of the other parties for the presidential elections are as follows:

Asser Mbai of the National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) obtained five votes

Usutuaije Maamberua of Swanu of Namibia obtained three votes

Epafras Mukwiilongo of the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) obtained two votes

Monitor Action Group’s (MAG) president Henry Ferdinand Mudge obtained seven votes

Congress of Democrats (CoD)’s Ben Ulenga obtained two votes

The All People’s Party (APP) president Ignatius Shixwameni received one vote

For the National Assembly election results, the United Democratic Party (UDF) gathered seven votes; the Republican Party (RP) nine; APP 11 votes; CoD five; Swanu three; Nudo four; and DTA, 18.

The Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN) and the United People’s Movement (UPM) walked out of the whole elections without a single vote.

The rookies, NEFF gathered seven votes; while the Christian Democratic Voice (CDV) obtained three; the National Democratic Party (NDP) nine; and MAG, none.