Swapo Wins Windhoek West By-Election

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) announced early on Saturday morning that Swapo won the Windhoek West by-election.

Only 3 398 out of over 27 000 eligible voters turned up at the 13 fixed polling stations and eight mobile polling stations.

Swapo won 2 685 votes, Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) 315, DTA of Namibia 205, Congress of Democrats (CoD) 53 and Republican Party received 140 votes.

Candidates for the councillor position were George Trepper (Swapo), Maureen Dunn (RDP), Immanuel Benestes Auchamub (DTA), Joseph Amadhila (CoD) and Sophia Panizza (Republican Party).

Voters used electronic voting machines (EVMs), which have already been used in by-elections in Ohangwena and Endola, as well as the Bukalo Local Authority election earlier this year.

The Windhoek West by-election was necessitated by the death of regional councillor Shikwetepo Haindongo in August.

The EVMs are expected to be used in the Presidential and National Assembly elections scheduled for 28 November 2014.

– Additional reporting Nampa

Source : The Namibian