TA elects leaders for northern regions

ONGWEDIVA: New leaders for the Oshana and Ohangwena regions were elected at the regional conference of the DTA of Namibia held at Oshitayi village near Ondangwa last Saturday.

The DTA secretary of mobilisation, Agatus Antanga told Nampa on Thursday Lazarus Petrus is the new DTA coordinator in the Oshana Region, taking over from Higinus Italwa Daniel who was elected the party’s new secretary in the region at the same conference.

Julius Moongo was elected as deputy to Petrus, while Ester Nanyanga is the treasurer, Christofina Andreas is the youth secretary, Julia Nghikufilwa is the women’s secretary and Demana Phellep is the secretary of the elders’ council.

Former secretary of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) Youth League in the Ohangwena Region, Hidipo Hamata, who recently resigned from RDP, was elected the DTA coordinator in that region.

Hamata is to be deputised by Loide Nghilinganye. Ndilimeke Hangula was elected the DTA secretary in the Ohangwena Region, while Maria Munepapa was elected as treasurer, Valecia Kamati as youth secretary, and Nadula Johannes as women’s secretary.

The conference could only appoint acting coordinators for the Oshikoto and Omusati regions as DTA members from the two regions did not meet a quorum during the conference.

DTA president McHenry Venaani officially opened the one-day conference, which was a joint elective gathering for party members from the northern regions of Oshana, Ohangwena, Omusati and Oshikoto.